服務

頭痛


假如你還有頭痛或偏頭痛,但經過醫生的診斷仍沒有找出痛症的源頭,那你的頭痛很可能是因肌肉及關節已引起。上頸椎及顱骨底(亦稱為枕下關節C1/C2/C3),通常是頭痛的主要源頭,因為供應頭部皮膚及頭部其他地方的感官神經都是來自這些關節。當這些關節出現功能失調時,你的大腦無法分辨痛症是來自頭部或是頸部。原理跟「坐骨神經痛」相似,則腿部的痛楚實際上是由腰椎的問題引起。

PhysioMotion
具體地解釋,這些上頸椎關節可能因為一些連接頸椎、頭顱底、胸椎、肩胛骨及肩膊的一些肌肉痙攣,而導致上頸椎關節過分僵硬或過度鬆弛,甚至有不良的活動方式,令患者產生頭痛的症狀,如:
緊張性肌肉頭痛
  • 冰挑頭痛(眼部急性疼痛)
  • 集群頭痛
  • 偏頭痛
  • 因孕酮水平升高及月經前期雌激素水平低,所引致之激素性頭痛及偏頭同。

  • PhysioMotion
    其他因素也會增加上頸椎的肌肉緊張,造成因頸部導致的頭痛,如身體及精神壓力、過度疲勞、缺水及不良姿勢等。身體的其他部位亦有可能是造成頸關節負荷過度的原因,亦可能與頭痛或偏頭痛有關,例如胸椎之脊椎側彎。我們的物理治療師會採用全面的評估及治療方法,找出其餘相關的問題根源。

    我們的物理治療師受過長期的專業訓練,運用專業的手法治療、針灸、姿勢及工作室評估、日常生活建議,為病人治療因各種原因而引起的頭痛及偏頭痛。治療師會針對病毒人頸部或身體其他部位的穩定機能,為病人制定個別的運動訓練,並根據病人的需求,逐漸將這些運動融合於日常生活及運動之中。
    回到服務主頁

Services

Headaches


If you suffer from headaches or migraines that have been investigated by a medical doctor and there is no known cause, then it is likely that the cause is musculoskeletal. Non-optimal biomechanics specifically in the upper neck and base of the cranium (skull), known as the sub-occipital joints (C1/C2/C3) is often the pain ‘generator’. This is because the sensory nerve supply to the skin and other areas of your head comes from these joints. When there is dysfunction in these areas, your brain is unable to distinguish the difference between a headache as opposed to problems in the neck. This is similar to ‘sciatica’ where the pain is perceived in the leg when it is actually caused by problems in the lower back.

PhysioMotion
More specifically, these upper neck joints may be hypomobile (stiff), hypermobile (excessive movement) or have poor movement patterns. This will be associated with spasm of the sub-occipital and other muscles that attach from the shoulder girdle, thorax and head to the neck. Such non-optimal biomechanics in this region will cause:
Tension headaches
  • Ice pick headaches (acute pain in the eye region)
  • Cluster headaches
  • Migraines
  • Hormonal headaches and migraines due to the elevated levels in progesterone and low estrogen levels during your pre-menstrual cycles. These changes in your hormones make the mechanoreceptors (joint sensors that give your brain information) extra sensitive - highlighting to your brain that the joints are non-optimal.

  • PhysioMotion
    Other factors that increases tension in this upper neck region will also significantly contribute to neck driven headaches such as physical and emotional stress, fatigue, dehydration and poor postures. Any other regions in the body that is contributing to the poor loading in the neck joints will also be related to the headaches and migraines, for example, a scoliosis in the thoracic spine. Our Physiotherapists will take a holistic approach and include assessment of any other related areas and contributing factors.

    All of our Physiotherapists are extensively trained to treat neck headaches and migraines using specific manual therapy techniques, acupuncture, postural advice including ergonomic workstation assessments and lifestyle modifications. An extensive exercise program to address any stability issues in the neck or any other regions will be prescribed and progressively incorporated into the demands of your lifestyle and sport for long term management.
    Back to Services